Contributions & Awards

Awards to Vancouver Section Members
The Alpine Club of Canada is proud to recognize members who have made special contributions to the Club. The following Vancouver Section members have received awards for their many accomplishments and valuable service. The Section is eternally grateful. Click here for more information on ACC Awards.

A. O. Wheeler Legacy Award
“For Outstanding and Varied Contributions to The Alpine Club of Canada over Many Years”

1995 Eric Brooks
1995 Phyllis Munday

Honorary Membership
“An Honour for Contributions in Canadian Mountaineering”

1938 Phyllis Munday
1969 Eric Brooks
1974 Neal Carter
1983 Fred Beckey
1987 Dick Culbert
1987 John Clarke
2009 Don Serl
2011 Michael Feller
2017 Bruce Fairley
2017 Barry Blanshard
2018 Liz Scremin
2019 Rob Brusse
2019 John Baldwin

President’s Award
“Presented to individuals deserving recognition for extraordinary service towards the activities of the ACC.”

1998 Brad Harrison

Silver Rope Award for Leadership
“A mountaineering and ski mountaineering award for excellence in leadership and technical ability”

1934 W. Don Munday
1937 Eric Brooks
1938 Tom Fyles
1948 Phyllis Munday
1961 Scipio Merler
1970 Phil Dowling
1971 Gertrude Smith
1978 Klaus Haring
1978 Murray Foubister
2001 Don Serl
2001 Mike Thompson
2002 Howard Rode
2011 Fips Broda
2013 Bruce Fairley
2019 Martin Siegert
2021 Jay MacArthur

Distinguished Service Award
“An Award for Distinguished Service to the Club in Matters other than Mountaineering”

1985 Fips Broda
1970 Phyl Munday
1971 Elizabeth Walker
1973 Phil Dowling
1981 Andrew Gruft
1985 Gertrude Smith
1985 Norman Pursell
1987 Scipio Merler
1988 Doug Herchmer
1990 Bruce Fairley
1991 Brad Harrison
1994 Doug Fox
2001 Irene Goldstone
2001 Jay MacArthur
2001 Ron Royston
2002 Helen Habgood
2003 Liz Scremin
2003 Manrico Scremin
2004 Chris Bradley
2004 Mary Rode
2005 Fern Hietkamp
2006 Rob Brusse
2008 Tony Knight

Eric Brooks Leader Award
“A mountaineering and ski mountaineering award for strong commitment to learning and applying technical and leader skills”

2003 Peter Woodsworth
2005 Margaret Hanson
2008 Dustin Hines
2009 Martin Siegert
2011 Martin Naroznik
2017 Raz Peel
2017 Scott Macpherson
2019 Alastair Ferries
2019 Neil Kirk
2019 Amber McMinn
2019 Mike McMinn
2022 Marcus Tomlinson

Don Forest Service Award
“An Award for Significant Service to the ACC”

2005 Colin Boyd
2002 Tami Knight
2004 Kit Moore
2005 Ian Bruce
2005 Peter Taylor
2008 Martin Naroznik
2008 Richard Keltie
2009 Kayla Stevenson
2011 Martin Siegert
2013 Ben Waller
2017 Amir Khanlou
2017 Anna Milino
2019 David Hiscock
2019 Iwona Erskine-Kellie
2019 Ian Ross

Alpine Club of Canada, Vancouver Section Award at the
Vancouver International Mountain Film Festival (VIMFF)

“An award for the best film on mountaineering.”

1998 Miroslaw Dembinski of Lodz, Poland for “Ganek”
1999 Dan Mannix of Vancouver, BC for “Ice in Iceland?”
2000 Fulvio Mariani of Cadro, Switzerland for “Le Dolomiti di Pietro”
2001 Claude Merkel of Aspen, Colorado for “Great Trango: A Granite Mile High”
2002 Bill Pierson of Seattle, Washington for “Murph Goes To K2”
2003 Glen Crawford and Pat Morrow of Canmore, Alberta for “Musashi”
2004 John Board of Toronto, Ontario for “ski climb videotape”
2005 Jeff Rhoads & Jennifer Jordan, USA, “Women of K2”
2006 Gilles Chappaz and Babeth Leprince, France, “Sur le fil des 4000”
2007 Marek Klonowski, Poland, for “Looking for a Time Without Master Fibi”
2008 Alastair Lee, United Kingdom, for “Patagonian Winter”
2009 Darek Zaluski, Poland, for “Annapurna In Light Style”

Past executive chairs of the Alpine Club of Canada, Vancouver Section
In Reverse Chronological Order

Manrico Scremin
Rob Szpak
Anna Milino
Michael Kennedy
Raz Peel
Caroline Clapham
Rob Brusse
Tony Knight
Liz Scremin
Irene Goldstone
Jessica Shintani
Manrico Scremin
Doug Herchmer
Jim Sibley
Bruce Fairley
Peter Jordan
John Manual
Don Serl